Don’t Just Sit There, DO IT!

20130403-100426.jpg
You want to write a book, run a marathon, change your job, or publish a blog. What ever your dream is, you just can’t seem to make it happen. I am not any different, although I’m finally doing a few of these things. You know someone, or perhaps it’s yourself, who has a bunch of ideas or “plans” but nothing tangible to show for those plans. When did you first start having this “plan”? Ten years ago? Steven Pressfield writes in his book The War of Art: http://www.goodreads.com/work/quotes/722104-the-war-of-art-break-through-the-blocks-and-win-your-inner-creative-bat

“We fear discovering that we are more than we think we are. More than our parents/children/teachers think we are. We fear that we actually possess the talent that our still, small voice tells us. That we actually have the guts, the perseverance, the capacity. We fear that we truly can steer our ship, plant our flag, reach our Promised Land. We fear this because, if it’s true, then we become estranged from all we know. We pass through a membrane. We become monsters and monstrous.”

Pressfield speaks to that “inner voice” telling us to sleep in put off creative work today and do it tomorow. This voice is the voice of procrastination. It will only give us a life of “shouldA-couldA”.
I recently heard an author give his secret to writing. He said to write everyday. Don’t wait for inspiration, don’t wait for the perfect time, just start writing. Best selling author Seth Godon talks about “ship it”. Deliver a product, NOW! Most people learn by doing. Write your book, run your marathon (one step at a time), start your job hunt now. You’ll learn what fits, and what doesn’t out there on the journey of life. You have an inner passion within you just waiting for an adventure. Sure, you’ll trip and fall a few times, but who cares. You’ll plan your first training run for that marathon and get a cold. Your computer will crash and loose your first thousand words of your book, you’ll have a good week at work and wonder if that big job promotions is really neccessary. The difference between the winners in life who have there name on a book, or an office, or have a marathon medal, is that they kept pushing….relentless forward movement.
Now go out there and take some steps. I haven’t told you anything profound here, I just told you what my voice tells me everyday…and sometimes I actually listen.

Rocco

About Rocco De Leo

I am Rocco DeLeo. For years, I felt like I had so much more to offer the world than simply going to work and coming home. While I've always found my work to be engaging and rewarding, I knew I had much more to offer. Over the last few years, I've started focusing on personal development, my relationship with God, and what to do next. I write and podcast (And Dad Makes 7 Podcast) at www.roccodeleo.com about this journey. Mostly, I enjoy sharing the struggle, but sometimes I find some wisdom to share. My wife Jamie and I are raising a blended family with 5 children. Thankfully she stays home. When I'm not creating, I'm usually running trails, fishing with my kids, or enjoying a cigar in my backyard.

Leave a Reply

