Facebook Comparison Syndrome

Facebook has provided millions (or is it billions?) of people an opportunity to connect with friends and relatives in a way once only dreamed of. With this great technology comes great responsibility. What is this responsibility? Are you supposed to be honest with your life on Facebook? The answer is yes and no. Here is a list of the immutable laws of Facebook. Live by these and your life will be much happier.

1. Everyone is lying on Facebook. At least those who know how to use it are lying. Most posts are either “look at me” or “listen to me complain”. How many posts have you seen of a sink full of dishes with the caption “I am lazy”?

2. Don’t care about the Lies! Who cares if people are lying! Enjoy the connection for what it is. Don’t you dare compare other your life as it really is to the lives of people on Facebook. Comparing in this sense is comparing within your heart and mind. You might play the Facebook game and push the limits of truth on your post, and that is fine. Just don’t convince yourself that you need to be “really” like your Facebook friends. You’ll drive yourself crazy.

3. Don’t seek validation Facebook: You’ve done it before. So have I. You post something fun or neat in your life and wait for the little red number to start popping in the upper corner. After 16 hours you only have 1 “like” and that’s from your mother. At this point, you need to understand that even 1 moment of negative energy is a wasted moment.

4. Call the people who really matter: You don’t have a lot of time to manage 367 friendships. If you do, you’re not working hard enough at work. Facebook is a “touch point” but not a primary place to develop true friendships. Facebook only friends will not be there when your Dad is in the hospital, or you have surgery and can’t cook for yourself. Remember this.

5. Have fun! I will say it again and again. Have fun please. If it’s not fun, then don’t do it!

I forget sometimes and compare my friends running tallies to mine. I forget that he’s an iron man, runs a gym, and his life is fitness. That’s not me and i’ll go crazy trying to keep up with him.

What are some of the most ridiculous things you’ve compared yourself to on Facebook?

Rocco

About Rocco De Leo

I am Rocco DeLeo. For years, I felt like I had so much more to offer the world than simply going to work and coming home. While I've always found my work to be engaging and rewarding, I knew I had much more to offer. Over the last few years, I've started focusing on personal development, my relationship with God, and what to do next. I write and podcast (And Dad Makes 7 Podcast) at www.roccodeleo.com about this journey. Mostly, I enjoy sharing the struggle, but sometimes I find some wisdom to share. My wife Jamie and I are raising a blended family with 5 children. Thankfully she stays home. When I'm not creating, I'm usually running trails, fishing with my kids, or enjoying a cigar in my backyard.

One thought on “Facebook Comparison Syndrome

  1. Pingback: Facebook Comparison Syndrome - roccodeleo

Leave a Reply

