Why I’m Proud to be a Runner

Boston Marathon

Boston Marathon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In light of the tragic attacks on the Boston Marathon, I would be remise if I didn’t share my thoughts about running and the fraternity that is “runners”.  The runner spirit transcends the sport of running, and makes us “growth oriented” human beings.  The best part of our fraternity is that its open to anyone who wants to join.

 

1. It’s hard and nothing worth having is easy.  Anyone running has faced challenges both physical and mental and have over come them.  Waking up early, staying up late, and running through crazy weather toughens the spirit a drives the person toward a once untenable goal.

 

2.  An extended hand.  Look around at about 15 miles into a marathon.  People are hurting, tired and wanting to give up.  But something remarkable happens.  They don’t.  Stronger runners reach out their helping hands to encourage thier  fellow runners.  No one complains about slow runners.  A runner is a runner, regardless of speed.

 

3.  Runners are giving.  From “Race for the Cure“, “Run for her” or “10K for (insert cause)”, running has long been a way to raise money for special causes.  It gives every day people an opportunity to experience sacrificial giving.  This builds great character and helps people who need it.  It was reported that runners ran from the bombing straight to a local hospital to donate blood.

 

4. Everyone wants to be a runner.  Everyone wants to and can be a runner.  It gives runners a chance to help people get what they want.  Most runners are regular people who are not elite athletes training full time.  Runners are cops, teachers, bankers, construction workers, and many other professions.  Being a runner means that we do what we do and people see us accomplishing something they too can accomplish.

 

Share with me why you run or want to run.

 

About Rocco De Leo

I am Rocco DeLeo. For years, I felt like I had so much more to offer the world than simply going to work and coming home. While I've always found my work to be engaging and rewarding, I knew I had much more to offer. Over the last few years, I've started focusing on personal development, my relationship with God, and what to do next. I write and podcast (And Dad Makes 7 Podcast) at www.roccodeleo.com about this journey. Mostly, I enjoy sharing the struggle, but sometimes I find some wisdom to share. My wife Jamie and I are raising a blended family with 5 children. Thankfully she stays home. When I'm not creating, I'm usually running trails, fishing with my kids, or enjoying a cigar in my backyard.

One thought on “Why I’m Proud to be a Runner

Leave a Reply

