You Are An Impostor And Everyone Is Going To Find Out

In a recent  movie, Batman was called upon to “sacrifice” himself to save Gotham city from a ruthless and powerful tyrant hellbent on exploding a nuclear device in the middle of the city.  Superman will soon be on the silver screen again saving the world from assured destruction.  Who can forget ‘Spidey” flying around saving the pretty girl on flying skateboards?  Who is Bruce Wayne, Clark Kent, or Peter Parker? These guys are my hope on my struggle from mediocrity into awesomeness.

Runaway

Runaway (Photo credit: Cayusa)

As a man wearing many masks (Dad, full-time employee, writer, husband-to-be, etc) I am constantly assuming many “superhero” roles.  Over time, I  have developed a pretty good work flow to manage the things that need to get done.  That has opened up many doors on my journey toward awesome. It was easier to complain that I didn’t have any time to do things rather than face the learning curves (and many of them) I face on a daily basis.  Now that I have figured how to move forward rather than treading water, I face new challenges everyday.  Managing a household and a full-time job while still making room for myself comes with a lot of  “awe”.    I get a compliment on how well I am doing with my kids, I think “if they only knew”. “Sure my son said please and thank you. But I forgot to feed him breakfast, he didn’t brush his teeth, and his lunch money is sitting on the kitchen counter and he’s already at school”. “Good job with that account, the sales are looking good”.  Of course, the customer needed my product, I was just the right guy at the right time.
I am just a big faker and afraid every one is going to find out!
Are these words of a crazy man?! Certainly not. I’m hearing a similar story from many artists, including one of my heroes, Seth Godin.  The fact that I am consuming content from these artists implies that they  have succeeded enough to be relevant and have a large enough platform to reach me.  That is awesomeness! My guess is that guys like Seth Godin, Dave Ramsey, and Rick Warren all have feelings of doubt and feel like they are faking it too.  Godin speaks directly to this in the Icaraus Deception. What separates me from them (besides a bunch of New York Times Bestsellers) is that they have mastered the art of singing along with the voice of doubt and have learned that they have something important to say.  Like the superheros, I must wear my different masks, and say what I have to say because it too is important. Batman, Superman, and Spiderman are not superheros because they are fearless or never doubt themselves.

They are superheroes BECAUSE they have fear and ACT in spite of those fears.

I will continue to be the superhero my family needs me to be.  I will be my own Superman and soar toward awesomeness.  You are reading this because you are either my mom and  are obligated to read it, or you are on your own journey toward awesomeness.  Well, my friend, you are not alone.
What things are faking your way through today?
Share this post. Tell your friends you are an impostor and you don’t care who knows because at least you are showing up!
Rocco  De Leo
About Rocco De Leo

I am Rocco DeLeo. For years, I felt like I had so much more to offer the world than simply going to work and coming home. While I've always found my work to be engaging and rewarding, I knew I had much more to offer. Over the last few years, I've started focusing on personal development, my relationship with God, and what to do next. I write and podcast (And Dad Makes 7 Podcast) at www.roccodeleo.com about this journey. Mostly, I enjoy sharing the struggle, but sometimes I find some wisdom to share. My wife Jamie and I are raising a blended family with 5 children. Thankfully she stays home. When I'm not creating, I'm usually running trails, fishing with my kids, or enjoying a cigar in my backyard.

Leave a Reply

