Catching up to your goals by slowing down

Life is busy.  We have 5 kids, soccer practice, church, conference calls, grocery shopping, sales calls, and the never-ending trips to Costco. These things are supposed to be fun and fulfilling.  Some, arguably more than others.  Of course, these things taken as a whole make much more sense than taking each on its own. I find myself more and more feeling like I’m in a “catch-up” mode.  I seem to be two steps behind my schedule just trying to check the boxes I create for myself. My inner voice says things like “this will be easier when…” of course I never get the answer to that. Sometimes my inner voice tells me to give up on some things.  “Don’t go for a run today”, “take the kids out of soccer, practice is too much”, “don’t make that extra sales call, it’s too far away”.  When I get anxiety about finishing a book that I’m reading for personal entertainment, or finishing the end of Breaking Bad, it’s time to reevaluate.  Same goes true for this blog.  These things, are supposed to be fun. Lately, I have been telling that inner voice to shut up and telling myself to slow down.  My default setting has been taken over by a fast paced society that has placed way too much importance on things that don’t matter. Certainly, it is important for each of us to achieve the things we want to do and to achieve the things we must do.

The big picture is painted on a canvas of intentionality with colors of goals setting, task management, and organization.

On a daily basis, however, we may not be painting this metaphorical intentional artwork, we may instead be changing a diaper, stuck in traffic, or simply too tired to stop by Costco on the way home from work.  Having the ability to slow down in the face of speed bumps sets the successful goal achiever apart from the goal setter and forgetter.

Talking to myself / Conversando conmigo

Talking to myself / Conversando conmigo (Photo credit: gustavomorejon.net)

Remember, if it’s not enjoyable, maybe your on the wrong path.

However, don’t confuse enjoyable with comfort.  You must know the difference.  Take some time for this.

How to you slow down when things seem to be getting out of control?
Rocco
About Rocco De Leo

I am Rocco DeLeo. For years, I felt like I had so much more to offer the world than simply going to work and coming home. While I've always found my work to be engaging and rewarding, I knew I had much more to offer. Over the last few years, I've started focusing on personal development, my relationship with God, and what to do next. I write and podcast (And Dad Makes 7 Podcast) at www.roccodeleo.com about this journey. Mostly, I enjoy sharing the struggle, but sometimes I find some wisdom to share. My wife Jamie and I are raising a blended family with 5 children. Thankfully she stays home. When I'm not creating, I'm usually running trails, fishing with my kids, or enjoying a cigar in my backyard.

Leave a Reply

